21 | 09 | 2019
The Communist Party of Greece (ΚΚΕ) condemns in the most decisive way the murderous attacks at the expense of the Communists in Tripura State, at the expense of the supporters and friends of the Communist Parties, as well as the vandalizing, destructions and take-overs of CP’s offices, of offices of the mass organizations of the people's movement.

The Tripura Left Front Committee has decided to withdraw from the election in 19-Charilam (ST) Assembly Constituency in Tripura.

We are herewith releasing the text of the letter sent to the Chief Electoral Officer, Tripura by the Convenor of Tripura Left Front Committee.

Memorandum to CEC requesting postponement of election in 19-Charilam(ST) AC in Tripura [En]

Shri M. A. Baby, member of Polit Bureau of Communist Party of India

(Marxist) met Shri Om Prakash Rawat (Chief Election Commissioner), Shri Sunil Arora and Ashok Lavasa (Election Commissioners) today  and requested for postponement of election to the 19-Charilam Assembly Constituency in Tripura till peace and normalcy is restored in the state.

The CEC assuredthat after having ascertained all facts, a decision will be taken. We are herewith attaching the text of the memorandum submitted to the CEC and the memorandum of Tripura Left Front Committee to the CEO, Tripura.

The Secretary of the Tamilnadu State Council of the Communist Party of India issued the following Statement to the media.

Two persons were arrested for vandalising the Periyar’s Statue at Thiruppattur, Vellore District. There are reports in some media, that one of them Francis belongs to the CPI.

We firmly state that Francis is not a member of the CPI and has no connection with the party at all.

CP of India (CPI) and CP of India Marxist (CPI-M) releases statements condemning the attacks towards Communists after the Assembly elections.

After the Assembly elections where, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 35 of the 59 seats where the elections with its ally, Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), winning eight seats.

With those results the BJP-IPFT alliance ended the 25 years of uninterrupted rule of the CPI(M)-led Left Front by winning 43 of the 59 seats.

The Central Secretariat of the Communist Party of India issued the following statement on March 6, 2018 on violence in Tripura.

True to its character the BJP-RSS and their allied organisations have unleashed unprecedented violence against Communists and their supporters in Tripura.

Party offices of Communist Parties are being destroyed and burnt. Hundreds of party offices have been captured by RSS-BJP goons. Houses of hundreds of Communist workers have been burnt in number of places.

The Polit Bureau of the CPI(M) strongly condemns the unleashing of unprecedented violence and arson by the RSS/BJP all across the state of Tripura in the aftermath of their victory in the recent assembly election.

CPI(M) and Left Party offices and cadres are targetted with murderous assaults.

The verdict of the people of Tripura will lead to the formation of a BJP-IPFT alliance government in the state.  After 25 years in government, the Left Front has been voted out of office.

The BJP has, apart from other factors, utilized massive deployment of money and other resources to influence the elections.

The Central Secretariat of the Communist Party of India (CPI) issued following statement to the press:

The Central Secretariat of the Communist Party of India announces with deep grief the passing away of Comrade Prabodh Panda, a member of the National Executive Committee, Secretary of West Bengal State Council and a former member of Lok Sabha.

He breathed his last this morning (February 27) due to massive heart attack in his room at state party headquarters, Bhupesh Bhavan in Kolkata. He was 72 years old.

The Polit Bureau of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) has issued the following statement:

The Polit Bureau of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) strongly condemns the repression let loose by the Vasundhara Raje-led Government in Rajasthan against protesting kisans.

Strengthen state-owned banks

D. Raja

After the recent Punjab National Bank fraud, demands are coming from the Associated Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Assocham) and the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and industry (Ficci) that nationalised banks should be privatised and denationalised.

Even the government’s chief economic adviser Arvind Subramaniam has said that the time is ripe to privatise state-owned banks.

It is important to note at this point that initially all banks in our country were in the private sector. Even when India gained Independence, in 1947, all banks were private. In 1950, when we became a republic and the government worked out the process of planned development, it realised that funds were required to undertake and complete all long-term projects. The existing private banks were having people’s deposits, but did not come forward to extend loans for development purposes. They were more interested in their profits.

Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking

Your experience on this site will be improved by allowing cookies